Record of Meeting Fire and Police Commission Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 5:45pm Village Hall - Lunchroom

Present: Commissioners John Hedgemann and John Hedges – Acting Chair, Collette Lueck

Absent: None

Also Present: Assistant Village Manager and HR Director Julia Scott-Valdez, Chief of Police

Anthony Ambrose, Deputy Chief Ladon Reynolds, Tanya Maxwell & Diana

Farrera.

Call to Order: Acting Chair Hedges called the meeting to order at 5:45 P.M.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

<u>Introduction of New Member, Resignation & Nomination of new Chair for the Fire & Police Commission</u>

Collette Lueck was introduced as the newest member of the Fire & Police Commission, replacing Mas Takiguchi. Julia provided Board members with a folder which consisted of the Rules, suggested updates to the Sergeant promotional process, a whitepaper on Workforce Diversity, written by Deputy Fire Chief Peter Pilafas, a copy of the Village ordinance Article 28: Board of Fire & Police Commissioners; and a copy of the Illinois Assembly statues 65 ILC5/10-2.1-6.3.

Mas Takiguchi had been the Chair of the Fire & Police Commission before resigning in November of 2017. Members of the Commission discussed the new chair and the following nomination was made:

John Hedgeman nominated John Hedges as Chair of the Fire & Police Commission. Collette Lueck seconded the motion. Voting was held over until Thursday February 8, 2018.

Respectfully submitted,

Diana Ferrara Recording Secretary