APPROVED Meeting Minutes Transportation Commission Thursday, March 22, 2018 – 7:00 p.m. Room 101 – Village Hall

1. Call to Order

Chair Chalabian called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Roll Call

Present: Chair Jack Chalabian, James Thompson, Michael Stewart, Robert Taylor, Kyle Eichenberger, Meghann Moses, Akiwumi Attawia (arrived at 7:05pm)

Absent: Roya Basirirad

Staff: Public Works Transportation Engineer Jill Juliano, Public Works Civil Engineer/Transportation Commission Staff Liaison Mike Koperniak, Recording Secretary Mary Avinger

Chair Chalabian read a statement approving Commissioner Basirirad's leave of absence and then welcomed Meghann Moses, as the newest Transportation Commission member.

2. Non-Agenda Public Comment

None

3. Agenda Approval

Commissioner Eichenberger made a motion to approve the agenda as presented which was seconded by Commissioner Stewart. The motion was approved by a unanimous voice vote.

4. Approval of Draft Transportation Commission Meeting Minutes

Commissioner Stewart made a motion to table the draft February 26, 2018 Transportation Commission meeting minutes until the April 23, 2018 meeting which was seconded by Commissioner Thompson. The motion was approved by a unanimous voice vote.

5. <u>PETITION FOR ALL-WAY STOP SIGNS AT THE INTERSECTION OF ADAMS</u> STREET AND KENILWORTH AVENUE

Jill Juliano, Public Works Transportation Engineer, gave a presentation on the petition to upgrade the traffic control devices from two-way, east-west yield signs to all-way stop

signs at the intersection of Adams Street and Kenilworth Avenue. Staff's recommendations are to deny the petition and instead upgrade from two-way, east-west yield signs to two-way, east-west stop signs at the intersection of Adams Street and Kenilworth Avenue. The Commission asked questions and discussed staff's recommendation.

Public comment was taken on the proposed stop sign installation as set forth below.

Steven Saraceno spoke about his surprise at the traffic volume, concerns of people speeding north through intersection then finding the cul-de-sac, and his disbelief there was no record of vehicles speeding closer to 40mph. Mr. Saraceno stated he lives near the intersection and that even he's driven out of the alley and forgot about the yield signs on Monroe, and that he doesn't think much will change with two-way stop signs. He spoke of observing many vehicles speeding north and south and he supports north/south stop signs instead of east/west.

Sharon Herk stated she lives near the intersection and spoke of her observation of drivers not yielding and hearing many near miss accidents.

Larry Powers spoke about living right at the intersection and thinks there is a problem with vehicles speeding on Kenilworth as well as vehicles not yielding to the signs. Mr. Powers would like the Commission to reconsider installing 4-way stop signs.

The Commission continued asking questions and discussing staff's recommendation before determining a motion. Chair Chalabian stated the intersection needs to be looked at more proactively and less reactively.

Commissioner Attawia made a motion to (1) upgrade from east-west yield signs to two-way stop signs (2) add speed radar signs on Kenilworth between Adams and Monroe and based on number of cars traveling over 26mph according to the speed radar results, (3) complete a follow-up study. This was seconded by Commissioner Taylor. The motion was approved by a six to one voice vote.

The voice vote was as follows:

Ayes: Chalabian, Eichenberger, Stewart, Attawia, Taylor, Thompson

Nays: Moses

6. <u>PETITION FOR ALL-WAY STOP SIGNS AT THE INTERSECTION OF CUYLER AVENUE AND IOWA STREET</u>

Jill Juliano, Public Works Transportation Engineer, gave a presentation on the petition to upgrade the traffic control devices from two-way, east-west stop signs to all-way stop signs at the intersection of Iowa Street and Cuyler Avenue. Staff's recommendations are to (1) deny the petition based on the results of the crash analysis and traffic study (2) deploy portable speed radar signs on the 240 block of Iowa Street (3) do targeted enforcement of the 25mph speed limit and (4) replace the two-way plaques under the

east-west stop signs with Cross Traffic Does Not Stop plaques. The Commission asked questions and discussed staff's recommendations.

No public comment was taken on the proposed stop sign upgrade.

The Commission deliberated staff's recommendations, random targeted enforcement, lack of public comment, and how these petitions which were submitted before the traffic calming toolbox was completed gives residents other options not known to them at the time. Chair Chalabian wants staff and the Commission to be more proactive with the traffic calming toolbox so everyone petitioning for traffic calming devices is aware of other options.

Commissioner Moses made a motion to (1) accept staff's recommendations (2) collect additional data from speed radar signs and (3) reach out to petitioners and residents to educate them about other options within the traffic calming toolbox. This was seconded by Commissioner Taylor. The motion was approved by a unanimous voice vote.

The voice vote was as follows:

Ayes: Chalabian, Eichenberger, Stewart, Attawia, Taylor, Thompson, Moses

Nays: None

The Commission discussed traffic items and agendas for future meetings. Chair Chalabian briefly explained the parking pilot program to Commissioner Moses. Chair Chalabian suggested Commissioners review Parking Mobility Services Manager, John Youkhana's presentation from the last meeting to prepare for the April 23rd meeting. The Commission also discussed having a representative from the Police Department come to a meeting to discuss enforcement needs and procedures and having a study session for new commissioners on the traffic calming toolbox; how it came to be, how to use it, when to use it.

7. OTHER ENCLOSURES

None

8. Adjourn

Commissioner Thompson made a motion to adjourn the meeting which was seconded by Commissioner Eichenberger. The motion was approved by a unanimous voice vote and the meeting was adjourned at 9:15 p.m.

Respectively submitted

Mary Avinger,

Mary Avinger

Administrative Secretary